Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PEMCO Mutual Insurance Auto

Personal lines auto insurance
Average Customer Rating:
4.416 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (373 reviews)
5 stars
278
4 stars
36
3 stars
21
2 stars
12
1 star
26
314 of 373 (84%)would recommend PEMCO to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Auto
Review 1 for Auto
"Excellent customer service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, Online access, Reputation, Customer service, Convenient/easy
Location:Portland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:1
"Excellent customer service"
Date:June 30, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, Online access, Reputation, Customer service, Convenient/easy
I have been so impressed with my auto insurance and the way the representatives treat me. I get a real person on the phone immediately and every person has been so helpful and friendly.
Review 2 for Auto
"Price keeps going up"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer service: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Bellingham
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:30
"Price keeps going up"
Date:June 15, 2015
We have been with Pemco home and auto for 30 years. Our discounts include, auto plus homeowner, multiple cars, good student, safe driver, low mileage and anti-theft. We have 25 years of safe driving, and our kids have 7+ years as well. We will be removing our son, but still have our college age daughter on for another year. With all of this our agent says we can save an additional $713 by switching to another company, one that begins with a S and has a baseball field named after it. Tell me why I should stick with Pemco?
Review 3 for Auto
"Premium increase year after year"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Location:Olympia
Years as a customer:4
"Premium increase year after year"
Date:May 7, 2015
Year after year we haven't had an accident or filed a claim on our cars; yet, year after year our premiums go up. Called each year about our renewal premium increase; the rep wouldn't be able to do anything except to increase our deductible so as to reduce our premiums (which we don't want to do). Pemco, is this how you reward good drivers? Maybe it's time to switch!
Yes (1) | No (0)
Response from PEMCO:By PEMCOInsuranceMay 13, 2015
We understand how rate increases can be frustrating. PEMCO strives to adjust rates only as necessary to keep up with claims costs and to offer fast, fair service. Without knowing the specifics about your situation, it’s hard to explain what affected your rates. We’d love a second chance to review your policy and make sure you’re receiving all the available discounts and optimizing your coverage. Please call us at 1-800-467-3626 and ask for a senior customer service representative or supervisor.
Review 4 for Auto
"PEMCO WELL WORTH IT!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Reputation, Recommendation, Customer service, Claims
Location:Richland
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:5
"PEMCO WELL WORTH IT!"
Date:April 30, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Reputation, Recommendation, Customer service, Claims
I have had several insurances over the last 20 years Farmers, State Farm, Geico, Safeco, and other misc. insurance companies for my auto and home policies. I chose Pemco because of their customer service, and I got what I paid for, real insurance coverage that paid on claims and protected me and my loved ones, and excellent customer service. Pemco is worth it!
Review 5 for Auto
"Great Agent"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Overall value
Location:Hillsboro
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:Less than 1
"Great Agent"
Date:April 24, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Overall value
Recently, I moved to northwest(Hillsboro) and was shopping for home and car insurance. I saw PEMCO online and contacted local agent.
My agent name is Denise. She answered all my questions and helped me in choosing the right policy. I would recommend PEMCO to anyone who recently moved to Northwest.
Review 6 for Auto
"Agent did not apply correct coverage"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, Reputation, Customer service, Claims, Overall value
Location:Renton
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:40
"Agent did not apply correct coverage"
Date:March 30, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, Reputation, Customer service, Claims, Overall value
I called to add a vehicle. I carefully reviewed the coverage levels with the agent. Later that day my wife asked if I had updated our insurance. I went online to show her and was shocked to see collision and comprehensive coverage left off the new car. Obviously the new car is the one that needs this coverage the most. Not sure why this mistake was made, but it's a little scary.
Yes (1) | No (0)
Response from PEMCO:By PEMCOInsuranceApril 2, 2015
We're sorry to hear this happened – we're here to provide the protection you want for you and your new car! Please call us at 1-800-467-3626 and ask to speak to a supervisor, so that we can learn more details and look into what happened.
Review 7 for Auto
"The Best Company"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Customer service
Location:Spokane
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:47
"The Best Company"
Date:March 18, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Customer service
I have the utmost respect for PEMCO because they are excellent in Customer Service and they have compassionate claims folks.
Yes (2) | No (0)
Review 8 for Auto
"Poor Auto Glass Coverage"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer service: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates
Location:Bellingham, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:7
"Poor Auto Glass Coverage"
Date:March 18, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates
We switched our coverage to Pemco because of an incentive for educators. We have been with Pemco for 7 years without an at fault claim. I was very disappointed to find out that now when I needed good service and return on my investment that our glass coverage through Pemco was quite costly. We had a crack in our windshield develop a couple of weeks ago and before we could arrange to have it fixed our car was broken into yesterday and the drivers side window smashed out. Since these two glass incidents happened on different days Pemco is going to charge me $200 per glass incident. So it is going to cost us $400 even though the incidents happened a few days apart and are being fixed at the same time. I called Pemco to ask for some help and support with this but was met with a very abrasive and unfriendly agent who would not consider our situation. I have checked around and there are other agencies who offer rates that are competitive to Pemco, or better, who do not require deductibles on their glass coverage, or have incentive reductions. Be careful with Pemco. I've learned that incentives have details that bite when you need your insurance.
Response from PEMCO:By PEMCOInsuranceMarch 20, 2015
Hi BG – we’re sorry to hear about your glass damage and the disappointing experience you had when repairing it. Distinct incidents that damage your car are handled as distinct claims, with each one subject to a deductible. Yet we do offer other deductible options that may better fit your needs. We continually monitor our products to ensure they provide great value to our customers. We also strive for fast, fair, and friendly claim service, so I’m concerned to hear you had a different experience. We’d love to hear more, and to explore deductible options with you. Please call us at 800-467-3626 and ask for a senior claims representative.
Review 9 for Auto
"I feel like a regular at the corner store"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, Customer service, Overall value
Location:Portland
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:3
"I feel like a regular at the corner store"
Date:March 10, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, Customer service, Overall value
This is not a typical insurance company. A real live person answers the phone when you call. No pressing buttons or having some machine trying to interpret your voice. A REAL person! I really like that they are based near my home. It makes me feel comfortable and taken care of. Every interaction I have had with them is pleasant. Thank you Pemco! I plan on staying with you for as long as I live. Any time I need additional insurance, I will call you first. Hats off to you for changing the way I feel about insurance. I chose Pemco originally because of the good price, but knowing now how satisfied I am by this insurance, I wouldn't get another insurance even if it was cheaper.
Review 10 for Auto
"on line itimaze price per car"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Overall value
Location:seattle
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:1
"on line itimaze price per car"
Date:February 27, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Overall value
you need to have price on line per car , so we could change or add features or person vith visible money choice like Gaico, or state farm
Yes (0) | No (1)
Review 11 for Auto
"Great service & great price"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, Online access, Customer service, Overall value, Convenient/easy
Location:Port Orchard
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:2
"Great service & great price"
Date:February 27, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, Online access, Customer service, Overall value, Convenient/easy
I did a lot of research before choosing an insurance company and chose PEMCO based on their prices as well as their customer service. I love their website features that make it a breeze for me to make any changes I need at any time, but I also love that every time I have had to call PEMCO I get a helpful and courteous representative really quickly!
Review 12 for Auto
"New Car!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Recommendation, Overall value, Convenient/easy
Location:Renton
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:3
"New Car!"
Date:February 23, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Recommendation, Overall value, Convenient/easy
I recently purchased a new car and of course before you leave the lot you have to have updated insurance for that car! I called the 1-800 number and had everything updated and changed in a timely manner. I was also surprised to find out during my call that I had called just 5 minutes before closing hours. The guy I talked to still made sure that everything was done and updated properly so I could drive my new car off the lot that day.
Review 13 for Auto
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Online access, Reputation, Recommendation, Overall value, Convenient/easy
Location:Bend
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Date:February 23, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Online access, Reputation, Recommendation, Overall value, Convenient/easy
Best price for more coverage then a lot of other Auto Insurance Companies.
Friendly and sincere about finding the right coverage for me!!!
Review 14 for Auto
"Best Customer Service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Billing, Competitive rates, Local company, Reputation, Customer service, Claims, Overall value, Convenient/easy
Location:Marysville
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:14
"Best Customer Service"
Date:February 22, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Billing, Competitive rates, Local company, Reputation, Customer service, Claims, Overall value, Convenient/easy
Pemco is a wonderful company that has great customer service and is the most helpful when making a claim or asking any question. They have a great reputation and it's been great to receive great discounts for being an educator and a safe driver. They always go the extra mile to make sure you understand your policy and I've never regretted the decision to have Pemco as my insurance provider.
Yes (3) | No (0)
Review 15 for Auto
"Customer since 1968"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Billing, Competitive rates, Local company, Reputation, Customer service, Claims, Overall value
Location:bothell
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:47
"Customer since 1968"
Date:February 19, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Billing, Competitive rates, Local company, Reputation, Customer service, Claims, Overall value
I check with other insurance companies every now and then and Pemco is always better.
Review 16 for Auto
"Quality Service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Online access, Customer service, Convenient/easy
Location:Seattle
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:1
"Quality Service"
Date:February 16, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Online access, Customer service, Convenient/easy
In my short year of having PEMCO Insurance, I've had nothing but great experiences with them.
Last Summer, l contacted PEMCO in regards to a mechanical issue I was having with my vehicle, requiring towing assistance. Since the call was made after hours, I was connected to a representative out-of-state. I was a little thrown off by this, since PEMCO prides itself being local and true to the Northwest, but I was happy to find that the next day a local representative had followed-up with me to ensure I was taken care of.
Overall, I've bee more than satisfied with my PEMCO experience and hope to become a long-time customer!
Review 17 for Auto
"Happy with Pemco"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates
Location:Bothell
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:20
"Happy with Pemco"
Date:February 12, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates
I have been with Pemco since my first car. It has been a good experience with this insurance company over the years. We now have all of our vehicles insured through them. We never have had issues with this company. When we have had accidents, they have been on the ball to help us get repairs done in a timely manner. We have put cars on and off our insurance over and over and they have been really helpful in handling these things with us. We have recommended PEMCO to many of our friends over the years and will continue to do so.
Review 18 for Auto
"Deductibles & Other Services"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer service: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, teachers insurance
Location:Olympia area
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:30
"Deductibles & Other Services"
Date:February 10, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, teachers insurance
I would appreciate those of your employees, writing/changing a policy, advising customers of the cost (or chg in cost) with each step of a deductible (i.e., $500, $1000, or $5000). Basically, a clear look at what is the better value. Example: if $1000 deductible is the same price as $2000 -- I should be told that $1000 is the better choice and why. Some employees hide this info or don't know how to efficiently use their computers.
Also, when a 3rd party "totaled" our car, I was left to fight for the $ amount paid out. It took me 3 months of anguish with no help from Pemco. I should have been advised by Pemco of my best options.
Review 19 for Auto
"promotional bonus"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Reputation, Customer service, Convenient/easy
Location:yakima
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:6
"promotional bonus"
Date:February 8, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Reputation, Customer service, Convenient/easy
What encouraged me to set up an account was the promotional gift card with Starbucks. Thanks for your generosity
Review 20 for Auto
"19 years of coverage and still going."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, Recommendation
Location:Vancouver, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:19
"19 years of coverage and still going."
Date:February 7, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Local company, Recommendation
I chose PEMCO because a friend highly recommended them, and they offered me a good rate. Every interaction with them over the years has been positive, and that includes their auto accident services. I was once rear-ended which gave me a whip-lash injury and totaled my car. PEMCO employees were helpful, professional and fair throughout the recovery process (unlike the other driver's insurance company). I have sporadically price compared auto policies, and PEMCO has always remained competitive; why would I leave such great service?
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>
The site Terms and Moderation guidelines govern the content you submit on pemco.com. As a result, PEMCO Insurance may not post all submitted content.