Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PEMCO Mutual Insurance Auto

Personal lines auto insurance
Average Customer Rating:
4.347 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (403 reviews)
5 stars
294
4 stars
37
3 stars
23
2 stars
16
1 star
33
332 of 403 (82%)would recommend PEMCO to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Auto
Review 1 for Auto
"mad at the online system, I took out the cuss word"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, through my credit union
Location:Portland
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:3
"mad at the online system, I took out the cuss word"
Date:February 7, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, through my credit union
I thought that the online service I would be able to re-acitvate my car policy with out needing an agent but this is not the case.going to dump the online stuff monday and my spell check don't work here and I don't care.
Review 2 for Auto
"Exeptional service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access
Location:Bothell
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:10
"Exeptional service"
Date:January 27, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access
I had a couple claims and every time I felt like they want to help and never like they try to make money. Every claim I had was resolved quickly and with respect to me. Once I decided to deal with Farmers, other driver's insurance who was involved in the accident. After a week+ of communication with them I called PEMCO, and the problem was solved on same day. I can't imagine what else could be done to improve PEMCO service.
Review 3 for Auto
"Premium increase without cause!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:43
"Premium increase without cause!"
Date:January 20, 2016
We were with Pemco for 43 years - absolutely no claims, excellent driving records (their records point this out); however, this last year they increased our annual premiums by more than 30%. Their feeble explanation was something about Washington State caps being removed. So we move on to another highly rated insurance company.
Response from PEMCO:By JordanCustomer ServiceJanuary 25, 2016
Hi Gary, we’d hate to lose a longtime customer like you – we hope you’ll give us another chance before you move on to another insurer. Without knowing more details, it’s hard to say why your premiums would have increased by so much, since there are a number of factors that go into how much you pay. We do make changes in our rates from time to time to cover increasing costs of providing insurance, including rising costs of vehicle repairs, medical costs, and legal costs associated with claims. But we do our best to offset these increases by providing you with a variety of discounts, including the Safe Driver Discount, which you receive for your excellent driving record. We’d love to give you a personalized policy review, though, and make sure you’re getting all the discounts you qualify for. Please call us at 1-800-467-3626 when you get a chance, and ask to speak with a customer service specialist.
Review 4 for Auto
"Great Customer Service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Location:Seattle
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:2
"Great Customer Service"
Date:January 18, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
I bumped into a parking garage post and called Pemco. The agent quickly handled the claim and was able to give me a list of all the surrounding area body repair shops that they partner with. Wonderful customer service agent who empathized with my situation and first concern was if I was alright.
Review 5 for Auto
"Prompt Service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Local company, Reputation
Location:Vancouver
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:5
"Prompt Service"
Date:January 14, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Local company, Reputation
I have had PEMCO Insurance for a few years. When I did file a claim they were helpful and prompt whenever I contacted them on the phone or via email. They handled my claim well and I was able to replace my vehicle.
Review 6 for Auto
"First accident in over 20 years"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company
Location:south end
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:Less than 1
"First accident in over 20 years"
Date:January 13, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company
Had a blowout (faulty tire, you wouldn't believe how fast tire mnfr swapped the tire for brand new for free and took the old tire but I have the serial number on it and I'll get it back) Anyway, PEMCO went from Total to Repair to TOTAL etc. 4 times yesterday. Initial estimate from body shop list only cosmetic parts. No mention of the nearly ripped out front suspension and driveline or the nearly bent-in-half lower control arm. Wheelbase is 11 inches shorter on one side than the other. OBVIOUS total. PEMPCO doesn't seem to mind (the shop is one of their preferred shops) I'm having it towed to a real shop today and getting it totaled.
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingJanuary 15, 2016
Oh, no! Hope you’re OK after your accident. Sorry for any confusion. You’re free to go to the body shop of your choice to have your vehicle repaired. (The benefit of using one of our preferred shops is that we would guarantee the repairs for as long as you own the vehicle.)

If the body shop’s initial estimate is that the vehicle is a total loss, then we’d run a report to determine if the cost of repairs is more than the vehicle is worth – and if so, we’d total it. If the initial estimate is that the vehicle may be fixable, they may start repairing it. As repairs begin, if they find more damage than what they initially estimated, the vehicle could still be totaled.

We strive to make the claims process as easy and quick as possible, but sometimes it takes a little longer than we’d like. If you still have questions or concerns about your claim, we’d encourage you to contact your adjuster directly – he or she will be in the best position to help you.
Review 7 for Auto
"Collision Avoidance Systems Really Work"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:42
"Collision Avoidance Systems Really Work"
Date:January 12, 2016
In your winter of 2016 Newsletter you had an article about the benefits of the new Collision Avoidances Systems and how statistics show they work. How come PEMCO is not giving a discount for those of us that have paid extra to have this feature on our new cars. I spent over $2,000 to have the Eye Sight added to my 2015 Subaru Forester and when I asked if I got any discount for having this feature I was told I didn't.
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingJanuary 15, 2016
Great question! There’s no doubt that collision avoidance systems are helpful. However, their effectiveness can vary from vehicle to vehicle, and the insurance industry in general appears to be a year or two away from offering a discount for such systems.

Some systems will automatically brake for you to avoid a collision; others just slow the car down so the impact isn’t as severe. They’re both going to help, but one is likely to be significantly more effective in avoiding a collision.

Also, our rates and discounts are based largely on our historic loss data. Since the technology is relatively new, we haven’t yet gathered enough claims data from our customers to determine how much of a discount (if any) we should offer.

That said, we encourage customers to consider adding those features when they buy a new vehicle. You may not get a discount just for having the technology, but it’ll likely help you be an even safer driver – and that’s something we do offer a discount for.
Review 8 for Auto
"Smoke and Mirrors"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer service: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: all of the above once upon a time
Location:Bremerton
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:12
"Smoke and Mirrors"
Date:January 11, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: all of the above once upon a time
I recently received my Pemco auto policy for 2016.
I was shocked at the ammount my insurance cost increased to.
It had jumped by appr 24% which is a very significant increase.
I called Pemco, and was told my insurance cost increased due to my credit based insurance score.
This shocked me even further, as I have excellent credit,
and have had for the entire time Pemco has been my insurance company.
So I contacted Equifax and saw my credit report. and of course there is nothing detrimental there. There never has been.
I called Pemco again to get a 2nd opinion.
This time they rechecked my credit score and dropped my insurance down slightly
This did not satisfy me. So i spoke with a supervisor.
The supervisor told me it wasn't my credit score (this after I had been told that twice)
but rather the cost on insurance has gone up.
So, I was lied to, twice, Both times verbally and in writing, about my credit causing my insurance to increase.
Which makes sense because I have never had a bad mark on my credit.
I can understand a cost increase. But this is going too far. And there has been dishonesty from Pemco on this matter.
I am extremely disappointed in Pemco as a company.
I feel I am being penalized for no reason pertaining to myself.
That this "credit based insurance score" is nothing more than smoke and mirrors for Pemco to rip off their customers.
For many years when people ask about my insurance I hace proudly told them I'm with Pemco.
Now I tell them this story.
And have new insurance elsewhere.
Yes (1) | No (0)
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingJanuary 12, 2016
Hi, sorry to hear you felt like we gave you the runaround when you called – that’s certainly not our intent. PEMCO prides itself on “knowing the customer” and giving unsurpassed personal service. Obviously, we fell short in your case. Please accept our apology – we’ll do better next time.

There are many factors that go into your rate, and without knowing your specific situation, it’s hard to know which ones led to your premium increase. A credit-based insurance score is just one factor, along with driving history, claims, type of vehicle, age, address, etc.

Concerning the use of credit, we wish it were a simple issue to explain. What you refer to is an insurance score – based in part on credit history, but different from a credit score. Insurance scores are used industry-wide. Virtually all insurers use insurance scores, which are calculated using a propriety algorithm developed by Fair-Isaac (FICO). Because it’s proprietary, insurers don’t have the knowledge necessary to answer specific questions about scores. You can learn more about how insurance scoring works, plus advice for improving your score, on our website: https://pemco.com/faqs/score-error.

We hope you’ll give us another chance – we’d like to provide a personalized policy review to you to make sure you’re receiving all the discounts you qualify for. Please call us at 1-800-467-3626 and ask to speak to a customer service supervisor.
Review 9 for Auto
"TRUE Service!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Claims, Reputation
Location:Vancouver
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:35
"TRUE Service!"
Date:December 26, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Claims, Reputation
We have been with PEMCO for over 35 years (home, boat & auto) and have NEVER had a negative experience. Their superior service has been amazing. Now that we're retired, we spend a lot of time at our vacation home. Consequently, we continuously have to "deactivate"/"activate" coverages for our cars (store them or "un-store" them). A short phone call to a friendly, helpful agent gets the job done quickly and all the paperwork is done efficiently on-line. PLUS . . . we've never seen better rates anywhere! We could not ask for better service.
Review 10 for Auto
"Absurd"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Olympia
Age:35-44
"Absurd"
Date:December 18, 2015
Though I have never had an accident and have a credit score of about 800, I was turned down for insurance for having one speeding ticket a year in the last 3 years. Though I will ensure I do not get another, The arrogance of the delivery of this information along with the rejection ensures that I will not seek this company again even with no tickets moving forward. No recommendation here!
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingJanuary 5, 2016
We’re sorry we came across as arrogant – that certainly wasn't our intent.

There are many factors that we consider during the underwriting process, and one accident or ticket doesn’t usually result in cancelation. We look at the whole picture, and evaluate each person’s risk. As part of that, we look at your insurance score – which is based in part on credit history, but is different from your credit score. (You can find out more about credit-based insurance scores on our website: https://pemco.com/faqs/score-error)

We don’t know the details of what happened in your case, but we’re sorry it didn’t work out for you here.
Review 11 for Auto
"A very bad customer service experience"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, excellent prior customer experience
Location:Des Moines
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:34
"A very bad customer service experience"
Date:December 18, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, excellent prior customer experience
We have been with PEMCO for over thirty years (auto, home, umbrella) and our experience prior to this last experience has been nothing but positive. However, when we got our last auto insurance renewal, I questioned why our excellent credit score did not give us a bigger discount than the one we received. (It turns out that PEMCO uses a mysterious impossible to verify or challenge CBIS score rather than actual universally used FICO scores). I must have spoken with 5 or 6 different customer service agents. I did what each one told me to do to remedy the problem, but it made no difference. It was like each customer service agent could not or did not see the string of emails regarding this situation. One customer service agent even addressed me in an email ("Dear...") by the wrong name, using the name of the customer service agent who had signed off on the previous email. When I finally asked to talk to the supervisor, he was apologetic for the negative experience, but the whole experience left me with very bad feelings toward PEMCO.
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingJanuary 5, 2016
We’re very sorry about the impersonal way your inquiries were handled. PEMCO prides itself on “knowing the customer” and giving unsurpassed personal service. Obviously, we fell short in your case. Please accept our apology – we’ll do better next time.

Concerning the use of credit, we wish it were a simple issue to explain. What you refer to is an insurance score – based in part on credit history, but different from a credit score. Many factors go into rating insurance policies. A credit-based insurance score is just one, along with driving history, claims, type of vehicle, age, address, etc. Insurance scores are used industry-wide. Virtually all insurers use insurance scores, which are calculated using a propriety algorithm developed by Fair-Isaac (FICO).

Because it’s proprietary, insurers don’t have the knowledge necessary to answer specific questions about scores. You can learn more about how insurance scoring works, plus advice for improving your score, on our website: https://pemco.com/faqs/score-error. If you’d like further help, please call and ask to speak with a senior customer service representative.
Review 12 for Auto
"great experience"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Local company, Online access
Location:Bellingham
Age:45-54
Years as a customer:8
"great experience"
Date:December 12, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Local company, Online access
It's so easy to write negative reviews, so here's a positive one. It was pouring rain and when I stepped on the brake, my car slowly hydroplaned into the back of a minivan. In the rain we exchanged info, but the cars were driveable, so off we went. I called Pemco to tell them what happened. She asked if everyone was ok, and said don't worry, I could call back when it was convenient. When I called back on Monday, they gave me places I could take the car for an estimate, or said I could take it whereever I wanted. I took it to their suggested place. The guy there could NOT have been nicer. The car would be totaled, he said. I spent some time on the computer getting comparables for our car, expecting the offer to be lowball. It was totally fair (better than I expected, actually). The tow place called to make an appointment to come and pick up the car (no expense to us). All in all a fantastic experience. I have no idea how much my insurance will go up because of this, but so far very impressed with Pemco.
Review 13 for Auto
"Brian Darnold"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Location:Olympia
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:Not a current customer
"Brian Darnold"
Date:December 2, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Outstanding customer service, my agent walked me through everything to make sure I was getting the best value for comparable coverage from that lizard place. OUTSTANDING JOB!
Thank you so much.
Review 14 for Auto
"New to Pemco"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates
Location:Renton
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:Less than 1
"New to Pemco"
Date:December 1, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates
With the help of a insurance agent I switched my car and homeowners insurance to Pemco.
On Thanksgiving day we were hit by another driver (also a Pemco insurance customer). Things should have gone smoothly right? Wrong. Even though I have full comp coverage on my car, the accident isn't my fault, the other driver was given a ticket for driving too fast on icy road conditions. I'm not able to get car rental coverage because I don't have rental coverage on my policy. They need pre-approval and the car must be deemed not drivable. The major impact was in the rim and tire (at 45+ miles an hour) the tire is loosing air slowly. When I complained to my adjustor from Pemco, I was told to "grin and bear it" and "that's life"
So now I have to go return my rental and drive a car that had just taken a 45 an hour impact hit. So guys cheaper isn't better, you get what you pay for. )-:
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaCommunicationsDecember 7, 2015
Sorry to hear your holiday was interrupted by an auto accident – that’s not the way anyone wants to spend Thanksgiving!

Without knowing more details about the claim, we can’t say why you haven’t been offered a rental car. It could be that we haven’t been able to reach the other driver to confirm details of the accident yet, or it could be because your car is still considered drivable (though it sounds like that’s not the case). In any event, we’d like to talk with you to review your claim in more detail, and see what we can do to help you get back on the road. Please give us a call at 1-800-GO-PEMCO (1-800-467-3626) when you get a chance, and ask to speak with a claims supervisor.
Review 15 for Auto
"OVER PRICED"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access
Location:Yelm
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:30
"OVER PRICED"
Date:October 27, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access
We have had our home and autos insured with Pemco for over 30 years and understand that prices must increase occasionally but this last increase was way too much and for the reason given, just doesn't make sense.
Yes (1) | No (0)
Response from PEMCO:By ServiceOctober 28, 2015
Hi Ray, we strive to keep our rates competitive, though we do sometimes need to adjust our prices based on increasing costs of doing business. Many factors go into your rate, and we would love to know the specifics of your situation so we can provide a personalized policy review and make sure you’re receiving all the discounts you qualify for. Please call us at 1-800-467-3626 and ask for a Customer Service Specialist.
Review 16 for Auto
"Changing Companies"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer service: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Customer service, Convenient/easy
Location:Medical Lake
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:9
"Changing Companies"
Date:October 17, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Customer service, Convenient/easy
After being with PEMCO for well over 5 years now, steadily watching my premiums go up, we have decided that the value here as opposed to what other insurance companies are offering, just isn't here any longer. Therefore we are canceling our policy and leaving PEMCO.
Response from PEMCO:By PEMCOPEMCOOctober 23, 2015
Steve, PEMCO strives to adjust rates only as necessary. Inflation leads to higher costs. More-expensive vehicles, medical fees, and property repairs contribute to boost annual premiums, because we need to ensure we’re able to fulfill our promise to our customers. We're sorry that you feel PEMCO isn't a good value for you anymore. We appreciate the years you've spent with us and wish you the best going forward.
Review 17 for Auto
"Horrible when you need help"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Kirkland
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:6
"Horrible when you need help"
Date:October 11, 2015
When it comes time to receive help- even roadside assistance- expect to become just a number. Expect to be treated like they want you off the phone and are not interested in really taking the time to help you and provide you with knowledge to your questions. Very sad to write this had always raved about PEMCO but no more.
Response from PEMCO:By PEMCOInsuranceOctober 13, 2015
Hi, sorry to hear about your poor experience when you called about your roadside assistance coverage. Our customers are our top priority, and we don’t want you to ever feel otherwise. We’d be grateful if you gave us another chance to provide the experience you’ve come to expect from us, and to learn more about your earlier experience so we can improve our service. Please call 1-800-467-3626 and ask for a senior representative or supervisor.
Review 18 for Auto
"I think Pemco is the best!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Reputation
Location:Auburn, Washington
Age:Over 65
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:27
"I think Pemco is the best!"
Date:October 2, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Reputation
With car and home for many years, Pemco has always been there for me without any hassles. I would never leave them.
Review 19 for Auto
"Smoke and Mirrors."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:14
"Smoke and Mirrors."
Date:September 23, 2015
I've been with PEMCO for years. Will be changing. When I signed up they said my premium would continue to go down over the years because of my excellent driving record and no tickets, being an educator and blah blah blah. PEMCO appears to raise it's premium and fees yearly. I'm not the only person who has noticed this, so have my friends and some other customers.
Response from PEMCO:By PEMCOInsuranceSeptember 24, 2015
Bern, we're sorry to hear you’re unhappy with your premiums. PEMCO strives to adjust rates only as necessary. Inflation can lead to higher costs. As vehicles, medical costs, and property damage become more expensive, that contributes to increased annual premium. Please contact our customer service experts at 800-467-3626, and we’ll be happy to review your policy with you to be sure you’re getting the best possible rate.
Review 20 for Auto
"Sorry, Pemco"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer service: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Bellevue
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:22
"Sorry, Pemco"
Date:September 14, 2015
After 22 years of being faithful, I've decided that no PEMCO you are not like the rest of us.
The premium keeps going up - my income does not. The value in our relationship just isn't there any more. Good bye!
Response from PEMCO:By PEMCOInsuranceSeptember 18, 2015
PEMCO strives to adjust rates only as necessary, but inflation can lead to higher costs. As vehicles, medical costs, and property damage become more expensive, you may see your annual premiums increase. There are other factors that also can affect your annual premium. If you'd like a personalized policy review to make sure you're receiving all the discounts you qualify for, please contact our Customer Service Department at 1-800-467-3626.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>
The site Terms and Moderation guidelines govern the content you submit on pemco.com. As a result, PEMCO Insurance may not post all submitted content.