Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PEMCO Mutual Insurance Auto

Personal lines auto insurance
Average Customer Rating:
4.326 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (423 reviews)
5 stars
308
4 stars
37
3 stars
23
2 stars
18
1 star
37
346 of 423 (82%)would recommend PEMCO to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Auto
Review 1 for Auto
"20% rate increase, no explanation"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value
Location:Seattle
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:4
"20% rate increase, no explanation"
Date:July 21, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value
I'm not sure how my rate can go up 20% in a single year. I've had no accidents, and my car has only decreased in value. This is completely unacceptable, and I will be shopping for another company soon.
Response from PEMCO:By John BurgessMarketingJuly 22, 2016
Hi Alex, there are many factors that affect your rates, even if your vehicle is older. Give us a call at 1-800-GO-PEMCO to have a policy review, to make sure you have the right coverage and are getting all the discounts you qualify for.
Review 2 for Auto
"unbelievable"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:17
"unbelievable"
Date:July 6, 2016
I've had a perfect driving record for 16 years and never made a claim. I backed into someone whose car had zero damage in a parking lot who then made a false claim, that I could prove was false, and my rates went up 30%. Completely unacceptable. Looking for new coverage immediately.
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingJuly 8, 2016
Hi, sorry to hear this. Without knowing the details of your account, we can't say for sure why you saw a rate increase. A lot of factors can affect your rates, including where you live, what vehicle(s) you drive, and any past claims activity. That said, it sounds like you could benefit from a policy review. Before you make a decision to switch to a different insurer, we hope you'll let us go over your policy with you to make sure you have the right coverage and are getting all the discounts you qualify for. Give us a call at 1-800-GO-PEMCO when you get a chance and ask for Customer Service. Thanks!
Review 3 for Auto
"Superior service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Billing, Claims, Competitive rates, Customer service, Local company, Overall value, Reputation, superior vendors recommended for claims
Location:Kent
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
"Superior service"
Date:July 6, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Billing, Claims, Competitive rates, Customer service, Local company, Overall value, Reputation, superior vendors recommended for claims
I have been with Pemco for 38 years. I have auto, have had rental, and have home insurance, During my time with Pemco, I have always worked with kind and professional customer service. When needing to file claims, Pemco has always worked with me swiftly to resolve claims.
There has never been a time where I have had less than exceptional service.
Through the years I have looked at other company rates. Not one could compare to the level of coverage I own for auto or home at a lower rate nor provide the level of customer service that I have with Pemco.
Review 4 for Auto
"A local world class company"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access
Location:Renton, WA
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:25
"A local world class company"
Date:June 29, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access
I have all my policies through PEMCO and have for many years. Dealing with unresponsive global companies that had no understanding of customer service but a long list of procedures and denial of claims, I switched to PEMCO over 20 years ago.
I have filed several claims from homeowners to auto and they are always understanding, calm and helpful. The repairs were completed from reputable companies who stood behind their work.
PEMCO is local, solid and responsive, your best choice for all insurance coverage.
Review 5 for Auto
"PEMCO is the BEST!!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy
Location:Issaquah
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:7
"PEMCO is the BEST!!"
Date:May 28, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy
We switched to PEMCO when our teens got their drivers license. The savings when we switched to PEMCO was amazing. (Along with our homeowners & umbrella policies, we ended up saving $2,000 / year. Now that is significant.) Thing is - everyone at PEMCO is so nice and helpful. We have had several auto claims and everyone at PEMCO has been so easy to work with and they have never given us a hard time - EVER. I always recommend PEMCO to everyone.
Review 6 for Auto
"Best and Quality Service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation
Location:Seattle
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:40
"Best and Quality Service"
Date:May 25, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation
My husband and I have been with Pemco for 40 years. Went to change one time (to save a little money) and found it so difficult to deal with out of state people we didn't change (it wasn't worth the small savings). Never have had a problem dealing with them even when we had teenagers who liked to push the limit on speed and a few fender benders. Treat us with respect and take care of issues fast and efficiantly. Thank you Pemco
Review 7 for Auto
"When you need them, they're there."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: service when needed
Location:Seattle
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:16
"When you need them, they're there."
Date:May 12, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: service when needed
Three auto collisions in three years, none our fault. Each time Pemco helped us get medical treatment quickly and effectively. Our agent was great too, ensuring we got information we needed and coverage we needed, along with advice for future concerns. We upped our auto and got an umbrella for the home too. I know now first hand how a medical incident can put you on the streets. Thank God that didn't happen to us.
Review 8 for Auto
"PEMCO is the best."
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Reputation
Location:Seattle
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:16
"PEMCO is the best."
Date:May 10, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company, Reputation
I have my car and home insurance through PEMCO and I wouldn't switch to another insurance company if they paid me. The people who work in the claims department have always been informative and have kept me in the loop. They will fight for you and I love that they are a local company.
Review 9 for Auto
"IVANKA VASSILEVA, RN"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Billing, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Recommendation
Location:ISSAQUAH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:12
"IVANKA VASSILEVA, RN"
Date:May 9, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Billing, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Recommendation
Great insurance company. I never had any problem in the past with processing claims. Great discounts as well. I have this insurance for over 12 years and so far they are great for me!
Review 10 for Auto
"Yassssssssss"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Local company, Convenient/easy, Online access
Location:Portland
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:2
"Yassssssssss"
Date:April 27, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Local company, Convenient/easy, Online access
Really, you can't beat Pemco. I tell all my friends and family about Pemco and encourage them to switch over. The customer service alone is absolutely outstanding. Rates can be on the higher end if you commute long distances for work, but will still run you less or even with big name companies. You won't be able to find a better customer service-oriented insurance company. Love it. And seriously, the website is on point. So user-friendly!
Review 11 for Auto
"Way more expensive for lower coverage."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates
Location:Bellingham
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
"Way more expensive for lower coverage."
Date:April 21, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates
I spent 30 min filling out the quote online. I had been directed to pemco by nerdwallet.com said the monthly estimate was $62, thats 369 for a 3 month premium... this wasnt even close to the initial quote of 6000 for my 4 cars with full coverage for the year. Around 409 a month double what esurance would charge. And 60 more than my current insurance farmers. This was all at minimal full coverage on all 4 vehicles and i only drive 2 of the 4 and other 2 are in storage. Waste of time.
Yes (0) | No (1)
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingApril 22, 2016
Hi Gerardo, sorry for the confusion. We aren't associated with NerdWallet, and we're not sure how they calculate their online quotes. The only online quote tool that can provide accurate quotes is the one on our website (https://pemco.com/getaquote). That said, you might consider speaking with one of our agents -- they'll be able to make sure you're getting all the discounts you qualify for, and discuss ways you can lower your premiums. Our number is 1-800-467-3626. Thanks!
Review 12 for Auto
"Sad"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer service: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company
Location:Shoreline
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:5
"Sad"
Date:April 16, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company
I was a customer for 5 years until they failed to update my address on file correct after I moved a few times and notified them of the changes online (with confirmation emails). I thought everything was OK until they failed to mail my policy renewal forms to the correct address. Then I was left high and dry with an expired insurance card (with no notification of it until it was too late) and no policy to back me up! If something happened to me I would have been screwed. PEMCO seriously failed a customer of 5 years. I need a company that can communicate and keep proper records, and I can no longer trust PEMCO to do that.
Review 13 for Auto
"MeMe in Kirkland - Thanks PEMCO"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy
Location:Kirkland
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:25
"MeMe in Kirkland - Thanks PEMCO"
Date:March 22, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy
My Husband & I have been with PEMCO for over 20 years. We've had, fender benders, hit & runs & years ago (teen/college daughters), thefts and yes...speeding tickets. One of my favorite stories: I was sneaking off to shop several years ago @ Bellevue Sq where a thief was stealing another car. Trying to make a fast escape out of the lot, he ran into my parked car; our new "Lexus." plus another parked car. Police were standing by my Lexus when I was coming out of Nordstroms...Umm..needless to say, I had explaining to do with my husband but PEMCO never "blinked." Dealing with PEMCO reps and PEMCO adjusters and PEMCO preferred outsourcing services has been supurb and after 20 years, (not kidding about this) we have never/ever had an issue with lack of professionalism or immediate service/results. They are wonderful! Highly recommend if you are new. Thank you again PEMCO.
Review 14 for Auto
"Pemco Fails at Customer Service"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Recommendation
Location:Des Moines
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:Less than 1
"Pemco Fails at Customer Service"
Date:March 7, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Recommendation
When a company wants my money and the difference between their rates and their competitor's rates are nominal--Customer service becomes the decisive factor in who gets my business. Unfortunately PEMCO couldn't offer better rates or better customer service.
Back to the Gecko!
Dissatisfied Customer
Response from PEMCO:By PEMCOMarketingMarch 8, 2016
Lace, we’re sorry to hear we let you down. We hope you’ll give us another chance! Please call us at 1-800-467-3626. We’d like to learn more about your situation, so we can do better in the future. And we’d like to give you a personalized policy review, to make sure you’re getting all the discounts you qualify for.
Review 15 for Auto
"Totally satisfied"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Location:Shoreline, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:47
"Totally satisfied"
Date:February 29, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Recently, I totalled my '97 4Runner. I was expecting to be tongue-lashed by my agent. Instead, I got nothing but pleasant, helpful and friendly service. Even after I drove my rental car into a ditch, they were still very understanding. I guess they figured I'd beaten myself up enough. After all was said and done, they settled my claim for more than I thought it was worth. They didn't drop me and my rates on the new car are excellent.
Pemco, you have a customer for life!
Review 16 for Auto
"So nice to have a company you can trust"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Local company
Location:Gresham
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:Less than 1
"So nice to have a company you can trust"
Date:February 26, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Local company
I just came over to Pemco for my Auto & Homeowners insurance . From the very beginning it has been a great experience !! I have better insurance and a cheaper monthly payment then I had before. Here is a satisfied customer.
Review 17 for Auto
"Great service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Location:Oregon
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:2
"Great service"
Date:February 18, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Great rates even though I have a couple accidents on my record.
Review 18 for Auto
"Premium Increase"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, Recommendation, 0
Location:Auburn
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:25
"Premium Increase"
Date:February 18, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, Recommendation, 0
I have been with Pemco for over 25 years. I do not drive more than 10 miles per day. My car is parked in the garage. My car is parked at a parking structure during the day. I have excellent driving records. Yet my premium for year 2016 was increased by $500. Their explanation is that there were too many medical claims. But they should increase premiums of the ones who made the claim. Why should I have to pay a higher premium just because other drivers are claiming???? This is totally wrong. I need to shop for a fair insurance company.
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingFebruary 18, 2016
Hi Rani, we’d hate to lose a longtime customer like you – we hope you’ll give us another chance before you move on to another insurer. Without knowing more details, it’s hard to say why your premiums would have increased by so much, since there are a number of factors that go into how much you pay. We do make changes in our rates from time to time to cover increasing costs of providing insurance, including rising costs of vehicle repairs, medical costs, and legal costs associated with claims. But we do our best to offset these increases by providing you with a variety of discounts, including the Safe Driver Discount (which it sounds like you should be receiving). We’d love to give you a personalized policy review, though, and make sure you’re getting all the discounts you qualify for. Please call us at 1-800-467-3626 when you get a chance, and ask to speak with a customer service specialist.
Review 19 for Auto
"Best insurance"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, Reputation
Location:Washington State
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:5
"Best insurance"
Date:February 14, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, Reputation
Pemco is very understanding, I love them way more than my previous ones.
Review 20 for Auto
"mad at the online system, I took out the cuss word"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, through my credit union
Location:Portland
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:3
"mad at the online system, I took out the cuss word"
Date:February 7, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, through my credit union
I thought that the online service I would be able to re-acitvate my car policy with out needing an agent but this is not the case.going to dump the online stuff monday and my spell check don't work here and I don't care.
Yes (0) | No (1)
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>
The site Terms and Moderation guidelines govern the content you submit on pemco.com. As a result, PEMCO Insurance may not post all submitted content.