Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

PEMCO Mutual Insurance Auto

Personal lines auto insurance
Average Customer Rating:
4.331 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (414 reviews)
5 stars
301
4 stars
37
3 stars
23
2 stars
18
1 star
35
339 of 414 (82%)would recommend PEMCO to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Auto
Review 1 for Auto
"Yassssssssss"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Local company, Convenient/easy, Online access
Location:Portland
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:2
"Yassssssssss"
Date:April 27, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Local company, Convenient/easy, Online access
Really, you can't beat Pemco. I tell all my friends and family about Pemco and encourage them to switch over. The customer service alone is absolutely outstanding. Rates can be on the higher end if you commute long distances for work, but will still run you less or even with big name companies. You won't be able to find a better customer service-oriented insurance company. Love it. And seriously, the website is on point. So user-friendly!
Review 2 for Auto
"Way more expensive for lower coverage."
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates
Location:Bellingham
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
"Way more expensive for lower coverage."
Date:April 21, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates
I spent 30 min filling out the quote online. I had been directed to pemco by nerdwallet.com said the monthly estimate was $62, thats 369 for a 3 month premium... this wasnt even close to the initial quote of 6000 for my 4 cars with full coverage for the year. Around 409 a month double what esurance would charge. And 60 more than my current insurance farmers. This was all at minimal full coverage on all 4 vehicles and i only drive 2 of the 4 and other 2 are in storage. Waste of time.
Yes (0) | No (1)
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingApril 22, 2016
Hi Gerardo, sorry for the confusion. We aren't associated with NerdWallet, and we're not sure how they calculate their online quotes. The only online quote tool that can provide accurate quotes is the one on our website (https://pemco.com/getaquote). That said, you might consider speaking with one of our agents -- they'll be able to make sure you're getting all the discounts you qualify for, and discuss ways you can lower your premiums. Our number is 1-800-467-3626. Thanks!
Review 3 for Auto
"Sad"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer service: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company
Location:Shoreline
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:5
"Sad"
Date:April 16, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company
I was a customer for 5 years until they failed to update my address on file correct after I moved a few times and notified them of the changes online (with confirmation emails). I thought everything was OK until they failed to mail my policy renewal forms to the correct address. Then I was left high and dry with an expired insurance card (with no notification of it until it was too late) and no policy to back me up! If something happened to me I would have been screwed. PEMCO seriously failed a customer of 5 years. I need a company that can communicate and keep proper records, and I can no longer trust PEMCO to do that.
Review 4 for Auto
"MeMe in Kirkland - Thanks PEMCO"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy
Location:Kirkland
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:25
"MeMe in Kirkland - Thanks PEMCO"
Date:March 22, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy
My Husband & I have been with PEMCO for over 20 years. We've had, fender benders, hit & runs & years ago (teen/college daughters), thefts and yes...speeding tickets. One of my favorite stories: I was sneaking off to shop several years ago @ Bellevue Sq where a thief was stealing another car. Trying to make a fast escape out of the lot, he ran into my parked car; our new "Lexus." plus another parked car. Police were standing by my Lexus when I was coming out of Nordstroms...Umm..needless to say, I had explaining to do with my husband but PEMCO never "blinked." Dealing with PEMCO reps and PEMCO adjusters and PEMCO preferred outsourcing services has been supurb and after 20 years, (not kidding about this) we have never/ever had an issue with lack of professionalism or immediate service/results. They are wonderful! Highly recommend if you are new. Thank you again PEMCO.
Review 5 for Auto
"Pemco Fails at Customer Service"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Recommendation
Location:Des Moines
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:Less than 1
"Pemco Fails at Customer Service"
Date:March 7, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Recommendation
When a company wants my money and the difference between their rates and their competitor's rates are nominal--Customer service becomes the decisive factor in who gets my business. Unfortunately PEMCO couldn't offer better rates or better customer service.
Back to the Gecko!
Dissatisfied Customer
Response from PEMCO:By PEMCOMarketingMarch 8, 2016
Lace, we’re sorry to hear we let you down. We hope you’ll give us another chance! Please call us at 1-800-467-3626. We’d like to learn more about your situation, so we can do better in the future. And we’d like to give you a personalized policy review, to make sure you’re getting all the discounts you qualify for.
Review 6 for Auto
"Totally satisfied"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Location:Shoreline, WA
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:47
"Totally satisfied"
Date:February 29, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Recently, I totalled my '97 4Runner. I was expecting to be tongue-lashed by my agent. Instead, I got nothing but pleasant, helpful and friendly service. Even after I drove my rental car into a ditch, they were still very understanding. I guess they figured I'd beaten myself up enough. After all was said and done, they settled my claim for more than I thought it was worth. They didn't drop me and my rates on the new car are excellent.
Pemco, you have a customer for life!
Review 7 for Auto
"So nice to have a company you can trust"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Local company
Location:Gresham
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:Less than 1
"So nice to have a company you can trust"
Date:February 26, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Local company
I just came over to Pemco for my Auto & Homeowners insurance . From the very beginning it has been a great experience !! I have better insurance and a cheaper monthly payment then I had before. Here is a satisfied customer.
Review 8 for Auto
"Great service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Location:Oregon
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:2
"Great service"
Date:February 18, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Great rates even though I have a couple accidents on my record.
Review 9 for Auto
"Premium Increase"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, Recommendation, 0
Location:Auburn
Age:55-65
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:25
"Premium Increase"
Date:February 18, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, Recommendation, 0
I have been with Pemco for over 25 years. I do not drive more than 10 miles per day. My car is parked in the garage. My car is parked at a parking structure during the day. I have excellent driving records. Yet my premium for year 2016 was increased by $500. Their explanation is that there were too many medical claims. But they should increase premiums of the ones who made the claim. Why should I have to pay a higher premium just because other drivers are claiming???? This is totally wrong. I need to shop for a fair insurance company.
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingFebruary 18, 2016
Hi Rani, we’d hate to lose a longtime customer like you – we hope you’ll give us another chance before you move on to another insurer. Without knowing more details, it’s hard to say why your premiums would have increased by so much, since there are a number of factors that go into how much you pay. We do make changes in our rates from time to time to cover increasing costs of providing insurance, including rising costs of vehicle repairs, medical costs, and legal costs associated with claims. But we do our best to offset these increases by providing you with a variety of discounts, including the Safe Driver Discount (which it sounds like you should be receiving). We’d love to give you a personalized policy review, though, and make sure you’re getting all the discounts you qualify for. Please call us at 1-800-467-3626 when you get a chance, and ask to speak with a customer service specialist.
Review 10 for Auto
"Best insurance"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, Reputation
Location:Washington State
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:5
"Best insurance"
Date:February 14, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, Reputation
Pemco is very understanding, I love them way more than my previous ones.
Review 11 for Auto
"mad at the online system, I took out the cuss word"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, through my credit union
Location:Portland
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:3
"mad at the online system, I took out the cuss word"
Date:February 7, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Overall value, through my credit union
I thought that the online service I would be able to re-acitvate my car policy with out needing an agent but this is not the case.going to dump the online stuff monday and my spell check don't work here and I don't care.
Yes (0) | No (1)
Review 12 for Auto
"Exeptional service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access
Location:Bothell
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:10
"Exeptional service"
Date:January 27, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Customer service, Claims, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access
I had a couple claims and every time I felt like they want to help and never like they try to make money. Every claim I had was resolved quickly and with respect to me. Once I decided to deal with Farmers, other driver's insurance who was involved in the accident. After a week+ of communication with them I called PEMCO, and the problem was solved on same day. I can't imagine what else could be done to improve PEMCO service.
Review 13 for Auto
"Premium increase without cause!"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:43
"Premium increase without cause!"
Date:January 20, 2016
We were with Pemco for 43 years - absolutely no claims, excellent driving records (their records point this out); however, this last year they increased our annual premiums by more than 30%. Their feeble explanation was something about Washington State caps being removed. So we move on to another highly rated insurance company.
Response from PEMCO:By JordanCustomer ServiceJanuary 25, 2016
Hi Gary, we’d hate to lose a longtime customer like you – we hope you’ll give us another chance before you move on to another insurer. Without knowing more details, it’s hard to say why your premiums would have increased by so much, since there are a number of factors that go into how much you pay. We do make changes in our rates from time to time to cover increasing costs of providing insurance, including rising costs of vehicle repairs, medical costs, and legal costs associated with claims. But we do our best to offset these increases by providing you with a variety of discounts, including the Safe Driver Discount, which you receive for your excellent driving record. We’d love to give you a personalized policy review, though, and make sure you’re getting all the discounts you qualify for. Please call us at 1-800-467-3626 when you get a chance, and ask to speak with a customer service specialist.
Review 14 for Auto
"Great Customer Service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
Location:Seattle
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Years as a customer:2
"Great Customer Service"
Date:January 18, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Billing, Local company, Reputation, Convenient/easy, Online access, Recommendation
I bumped into a parking garage post and called Pemco. The agent quickly handled the claim and was able to give me a list of all the surrounding area body repair shops that they partner with. Wonderful customer service agent who empathized with my situation and first concern was if I was alright.
Review 15 for Auto
"Prompt Service"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Local company, Reputation
Location:Vancouver
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:5
"Prompt Service"
Date:January 14, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Overall value, Local company, Reputation
I have had PEMCO Insurance for a few years. When I did file a claim they were helpful and prompt whenever I contacted them on the phone or via email. They handled my claim well and I was able to replace my vehicle.
Review 16 for Auto
"First accident in over 20 years"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company
Location:south end
Age:55-65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:Less than 1
"First accident in over 20 years"
Date:January 13, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: Local company
Had a blowout (faulty tire, you wouldn't believe how fast tire mnfr swapped the tire for brand new for free and took the old tire but I have the serial number on it and I'll get it back) Anyway, PEMCO went from Total to Repair to TOTAL etc. 4 times yesterday. Initial estimate from body shop list only cosmetic parts. No mention of the nearly ripped out front suspension and driveline or the nearly bent-in-half lower control arm. Wheelbase is 11 inches shorter on one side than the other. OBVIOUS total. PEMPCO doesn't seem to mind (the shop is one of their preferred shops) I'm having it towed to a real shop today and getting it totaled.
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingJanuary 15, 2016
Oh, no! Hope you’re OK after your accident. Sorry for any confusion. You’re free to go to the body shop of your choice to have your vehicle repaired. (The benefit of using one of our preferred shops is that we would guarantee the repairs for as long as you own the vehicle.)

If the body shop’s initial estimate is that the vehicle is a total loss, then we’d run a report to determine if the cost of repairs is more than the vehicle is worth – and if so, we’d total it. If the initial estimate is that the vehicle may be fixable, they may start repairing it. As repairs begin, if they find more damage than what they initially estimated, the vehicle could still be totaled.

We strive to make the claims process as easy and quick as possible, but sometimes it takes a little longer than we’d like. If you still have questions or concerns about your claim, we’d encourage you to contact your adjuster directly – he or she will be in the best position to help you.
Review 17 for Auto
"Collision Avoidance Systems Really Work"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Location:Seattle
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:42
"Collision Avoidance Systems Really Work"
Date:January 12, 2016
In your winter of 2016 Newsletter you had an article about the benefits of the new Collision Avoidances Systems and how statistics show they work. How come PEMCO is not giving a discount for those of us that have paid extra to have this feature on our new cars. I spent over $2,000 to have the Eye Sight added to my 2015 Subaru Forester and when I asked if I got any discount for having this feature I was told I didn't.
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingJanuary 15, 2016
Great question! There’s no doubt that collision avoidance systems are helpful. However, their effectiveness can vary from vehicle to vehicle, and the insurance industry in general appears to be a year or two away from offering a discount for such systems.

Some systems will automatically brake for you to avoid a collision; others just slow the car down so the impact isn’t as severe. They’re both going to help, but one is likely to be significantly more effective in avoiding a collision.

Also, our rates and discounts are based largely on our historic loss data. Since the technology is relatively new, we haven’t yet gathered enough claims data from our customers to determine how much of a discount (if any) we should offer.

That said, we encourage customers to consider adding those features when they buy a new vehicle. You may not get a discount just for having the technology, but it’ll likely help you be an even safer driver – and that’s something we do offer a discount for.
Review 18 for Auto
"Smoke and Mirrors"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer service: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: all of the above once upon a time
Location:Bremerton
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:12
"Smoke and Mirrors"
Date:January 11, 2016
Why I chose PEMCO: all of the above once upon a time
I recently received my Pemco auto policy for 2016.
I was shocked at the ammount my insurance cost increased to.
It had jumped by appr 24% which is a very significant increase.
I called Pemco, and was told my insurance cost increased due to my credit based insurance score.
This shocked me even further, as I have excellent credit,
and have had for the entire time Pemco has been my insurance company.
So I contacted Equifax and saw my credit report. and of course there is nothing detrimental there. There never has been.
I called Pemco again to get a 2nd opinion.
This time they rechecked my credit score and dropped my insurance down slightly
This did not satisfy me. So i spoke with a supervisor.
The supervisor told me it wasn't my credit score (this after I had been told that twice)
but rather the cost on insurance has gone up.
So, I was lied to, twice, Both times verbally and in writing, about my credit causing my insurance to increase.
Which makes sense because I have never had a bad mark on my credit.
I can understand a cost increase. But this is going too far. And there has been dishonesty from Pemco on this matter.
I am extremely disappointed in Pemco as a company.
I feel I am being penalized for no reason pertaining to myself.
That this "credit based insurance score" is nothing more than smoke and mirrors for Pemco to rip off their customers.
For many years when people ask about my insurance I hace proudly told them I'm with Pemco.
Now I tell them this story.
And have new insurance elsewhere.
Yes (1) | No (0)
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingJanuary 12, 2016
Hi, sorry to hear you felt like we gave you the runaround when you called – that’s certainly not our intent. PEMCO prides itself on “knowing the customer” and giving unsurpassed personal service. Obviously, we fell short in your case. Please accept our apology – we’ll do better next time.

There are many factors that go into your rate, and without knowing your specific situation, it’s hard to know which ones led to your premium increase. A credit-based insurance score is just one factor, along with driving history, claims, type of vehicle, age, address, etc.

Concerning the use of credit, we wish it were a simple issue to explain. What you refer to is an insurance score – based in part on credit history, but different from a credit score. Insurance scores are used industry-wide. Virtually all insurers use insurance scores, which are calculated using a propriety algorithm developed by Fair-Isaac (FICO). Because it’s proprietary, insurers don’t have the knowledge necessary to answer specific questions about scores. You can learn more about how insurance scoring works, plus advice for improving your score, on our website: https://pemco.com/faqs/score-error.

We hope you’ll give us another chance – we’d like to provide a personalized policy review to you to make sure you’re receiving all the discounts you qualify for. Please call us at 1-800-467-3626 and ask to speak to a customer service supervisor.
Review 19 for Auto
"TRUE Service!"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer service: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Claims, Reputation
Location:Vancouver
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Years as a customer:35
"TRUE Service!"
Date:December 26, 2015
Why I chose PEMCO: Competitive rates, Customer service, Claims, Reputation
We have been with PEMCO for over 35 years (home, boat & auto) and have NEVER had a negative experience. Their superior service has been amazing. Now that we're retired, we spend a lot of time at our vacation home. Consequently, we continuously have to "deactivate"/"activate" coverages for our cars (store them or "un-store" them). A short phone call to a friendly, helpful agent gets the job done quickly and all the paperwork is done efficiently on-line. PLUS . . . we've never seen better rates anywhere! We could not ask for better service.
Review 20 for Auto
"Absurd"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer service: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Location:Olympia
Age:35-44
"Absurd"
Date:December 18, 2015
Though I have never had an accident and have a credit score of about 800, I was turned down for insurance for having one speeding ticket a year in the last 3 years. Though I will ensure I do not get another, The arrogance of the delivery of this information along with the rejection ensures that I will not seek this company again even with no tickets moving forward. No recommendation here!
Response from PEMCO:By JessicaMarketingJanuary 5, 2016
We’re sorry we came across as arrogant – that certainly wasn't our intent.

There are many factors that we consider during the underwriting process, and one accident or ticket doesn’t usually result in cancelation. We look at the whole picture, and evaluate each person’s risk. As part of that, we look at your insurance score – which is based in part on credit history, but is different from your credit score. (You can find out more about credit-based insurance scores on our website: https://pemco.com/faqs/score-error)

We don’t know the details of what happened in your case, but we’re sorry it didn’t work out for you here.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>
The site Terms and Moderation guidelines govern the content you submit on pemco.com. As a result, PEMCO Insurance may not post all submitted content.